DUSP Student Awards

Each year, DSC organizes the DUSP student awards. Nominations and voting is open to SPURS fellows, as well as undergraduate, MCP, and PhD students who expect to graduate in the next year. The awards are given at the graduating student lunch.

The idea of establishing faculty awards grew out of the desire of the DUSP Student Council (DSC) to recognize Emeritus Professor Lang Keyes for his tireless work to address curriculum challenges and for his commitment to and support of students. Finding no avenue to do this within DUSP, DSC decided to create an award that would acknowledge the years of service he has given to our department.

Excellence in Teaching

Given to a faculty member whose classroom teaching is considered to be exemplary.

2011 Recipient:

Frank Levy

Previous Recipients:

Dennis Frenchman (2010)
Aseem Inam (2009)
Terry Szold (2008)
Frank Levy (2007)
Mark Schuster (2006)

Excellence in Advising

Given to a faculty member who is considered to be an exemplary advisor, of any kind.

2011 Recipient:

Jim Buckley

Previous recipients:

Lorlene Hoyt (2010)
Eran Ben-Joseph (2009)
Judy Layzer (2008)
Xav Briggs (2007)

Staff or Faculty Contribution to Student Life

Given to a staff or faculty member who exhibits an outstanding commitment to improve academic or non-academic components of the DUSP experience.

2011 Recipient:

Kirsten Greco

Previous recipients:

Duncan Kincaid (2010)
Ezra Glenn (2009)
Lawrence Vale (2008)
Karl Seidman (2007)
Duncan Kincaid (2007)
Lang Keyes (2006)

Hebbert Award for Student Contribution to DUSP

Given to a graduating student for exceptional contribution to the DUSP community, of any type. The award is named after Frank Hebbert, a 2008 MCP graduate.

2011 Recipient:

Kate Dineen

Previous recipients:

Sara Zewde (2010)
Connie Chung (2009)